Cook Islands

The Cook Islands is a South Pacific island country composed of 15 islands with a total land area of about 92 square miles and an Exclusive Economic Zone covering 690,000 square miles of ocean. The country is freely associated with New Zealand, which handles its defense and foreign affairs, and its residents hold New Zealand citizenship. The island of Rarotonga is the primary population center and hosts an international airport. The country’s main industry is tourism.